Help others wholeheartedly (How I network)

I am an introvert - who networks.  I don't look down on networking, but it seems like sometimes introverts sneer at networking - maybe as a defence mechanism.

Introvert or extrovert, we are human.  Along a continuum, we all have anxiety about being snubbed or of being stuck in a boring situation (essentially, snubbing others).  Perhaps having a negative pass experience at a 'networking event' is why "networking" has a bad name.

But the dichotomy of fluffy networking versus real relationships is false.  There are more ways to network than meeting random people over drinks.

When I advised some friends recently not to worry too much about getting a new job, their response was "well, it is easy to say - you are good at networking."  I agree in the sense that I have a network I can count on.

But the way I network is by "helping others wholeheartedly."
  • By "help", it forces actions over forgettable banter and deeper interactions over neglected business cards.
  • "Others" is where "network" comes in.
  • I think networking should only be done when you can do it "wholeheartedly."  Heck, or for anything in life - it makes all the difference.

-----

I've been working at web tech startups and hope posts like this help young people just starting out at work or experienced people looking to switch.  You might also be interested in reading Howie Chang is a Product Manager (I'd work with).