The best thing is when you don’t even know how you did it

I’ve been very tempted to set a list of rules for my team to follow. The temptation is especially strong in our frenetic startup environment where we move fast while trying not to break so many things.

But should I?

To find my answer, I went for a run. Running is extremely boring. So boring that my mind always unlocks an answer for me after.

I realised that there is no point in setting rules. People just end up breaking them. And smart people would soon find them tiresome. Things also change so quickly that I have no time to update this hypothetical rulebook.

The answer: Habits always trump rules. 

A rule: I tell myself that I must wake up to run on Saturday mornings.
A habit: Every Saturday at 7am, I go for a 8km run with my friend.

The idea is to help my team form habits, so that one day they can do things well, rule-free and effortlessly - did it when they don’t even know how they did it.

By the way, the habit of running every Saturday at 7am for 8km with my friend is a real example.  And I don't know anymore how I do it.