Boredom

一知道在哪儿,世界就变得像一张地图那么小了;不知道在哪儿,感觉世界才广阔呢。

Once you know where you are, the world shrinks to the size of a map; when you don't know where you are, that's when you experience the vastness of the world.

When I was a student at MIT, I managed to get into a talk by the famous Rem Koolhaas because they let students in first, even as the queue snaked around the building.

My fellow architecture enthusiast James was also at this 
talk.

Little did we expect Koolhaas to be one of the most boring speakers ever.  Right next to Zaha Hadid.  Great architects make great speakers not.  Didn't help that his slides were not working.

So my sleep debt caught up on me and I was struggling not to nod off since I fought to get in there.  I can only vaguely remember Koolhaas droning on about the megacity of Lagos, Nigeria.

Years later, my friend James told me that was the fateful evening when he designed the (now patented, award-winning) Paperclip Armrest.  Because he was fighting over the armrest with our other, burly, friend.  While I was sleeping.

When we think about "definite", like how an architect is definitely famous or a talk is definitely boring, our world reduces to certainties.  But when we let ourselves go - that's when our ideas fly.