Seven great things happening in Singapore this week (you may not have heard of)

1. Temporary herb and vegetable garden on a rooftop in People's Park Complex, Chinatown
People's Park Complex (aka 珍珠坊) holds a special place in Singapore's history for its groundbreaking architecture. Today it is more known for being an ageing mall that attracts new migrants and older locals. I'm glad Edible Gardens planted their NÓNG pop-up on the 6th floor rooftop there, also bringing farming back to groups that may have grown up with fresh vegetables outside their doors (but abandoned them after moving to urban spaces).

On Thursday 27th February (630pm), the wonderful people of Green Drinks Singapore are hosting "The future of food farming in Singapore" there. 

2. Temporary wine bar by a group of friends who almost takes themselves too seriously
KOT Selections is a group of friends who import wine, and they really mean it when they say "we only import and sell wines we ourselves would drink." If you read the "Philosophy" section of their website, you can tell they are almost too geeky. But that's what I like about them, and it is also why you might want to check out this weekend's "Fantastic Friday + Super Saturday" wine bar. Two nights only. And walking distance from NÓNG!

3. A series of events that invites locals to share meals with migrants
Adrianna says 'why' better herself (Why I'm Hosting Culture Kitchen), so I'm going to focus on the 'what'. The upcoming event on Saturday invites you to learn more about Singapore's Burmese community (Burmese lunch, film screening and tour around Peninsula Plaza). Unfortunately it is sold out. But Peninsula Plaza is there every day!

4. Night cycling safety initiative, with this year's focus being foreign workers
Instead of cursing drivers (or cyclists, depending on your ride), a "motley crew" got together to promote safe night cycling safety. I recently interviewed Su Pei (admin / marketing officer) and was really enlightened by her thoughts on how a healthy relationship between drivers and cyclists should look like. I still suck at cycling though.

See and Be Seen takes place on 8th March, but registrations close this Friday. And if you're picking up your event pack on this Sunday before lunch, see you there!

5. Deeply moving Singapore comic book wins International Manga award
I almost cried reading this comic Ten Sticks and One Rice. Very happy that this amazing comic won some amazing award. They're having a book signing session on Sunday at Kinokuniya.

6. Pork, pork, pork, pork, pork, pork, pork
Seven courses of pork dishes. As Artichoke's chef Bjorn asks, "are you lardcore enough?" Even if you're not into pork, you've got to admit that Rock Out With Your Pork Out (Tue - Wed, 4th - 5th March) is pretty intense, and funny.

7. Where books get reborn
I was a book hoarder before I got my Kindle / iPad mini. Still, I have too many books I've never read again. Hmm, which reminds me, where's my book on the Robert Mondavi wine family? But anyway, there's this great book swap that takes place over beer. I was really amazed I managed to pick up books I wanted, and people really wanted my old books. Economagics!  Their St. Patrick's Day version takes place on Saturday 8th March.

I'm not giving away my "Ten Sticks and One Rice" though, even if I've already read it four times.

(Image credits: Edible Gardens, KOT Selections, Culture Kitchen, See and Be Seen, Epigram Books, Artichoke)

---

This is a personal post, and in case you don't know, I'm part of Peatix (event registration and online ticketing) and here's our list of Singapore events.

---

Personal plug: I'll be speaking on Product Management at 12noon on 7th March Friday (Paypal Singapore, Millenia Tower).