What to do when your personal views and professional interests collide

A week ago, I was featured on The Guardian for my side-project Architecture Walks Singapore. The article gave me the opportunity to thank ten design places that inspire me. Naturally, being interviewed was a joy.

Around the same time, the organiser of an event that brings professionals across various industries and nationalities invited me speak. I thought it was a great opportunity for me to learn from participants knowledgeable in other fields - I did not hesitate in saying yes.

Then I realised the event venue was a restaurant that serves Shark's Fin soup.

Things are so easy-going when your personal views and professional activities are aligned. But what happens why they are not? Would declaring 'views expressed are my own' sufficiently separate personal opinions and company policy? With everyone given the tools to express ourselves today, everyone has become a public figure of sorts and a representative of our organisation. No one would quite care if you have already made the 'this is my personal opinion' disclaimer.

Do you then silence your private thoughts to protect the organisation's interests?

Two experiences I had recently in a purely personal environment taught me the answer.

During the Hong Kong Umbrella Movement, one of my friends shared a photograph of students repurposing plastic bottles into masks to shield themselves against the tear gas used by the police. One commentator, probably thinking of the Great Pacific garbage patch, stated harshly that "plastic has no place in our world." That comment reminded me to take a step back and understand the bigger picture. Otherwise I might make harsh comments that fail to see the good side of things.

And I was mindlessly scrolling down my Instagram when I saw a friend posting happy pictures of seeing a Killer Whale in a theme park. My knee-jerk reaction was almost to comment 'Haven't you watched Blackfish??

It reminds me of the lyrics from John Mayer's song 'Belief'

Is there anyone who ever remembers
changing their mind from the paint on a sign?
Is there anyone who really recalls
ever breaking rank at all
for something someone yelled real loud one time?

Ultimately it is not about the conflict between your private view and company's interest. It is about what your goal is, and how you go about achieving it. Too many people fight for what is 'right' without care for collateral damage, and without trying to understand why people do what they do.

I am still going to speak at that event, and I would not request for a venue change, especially after I realised that the organiser also owns the venue. I have not thought about how exactly to effect change in this case, but at least I know that boycotting the event, the venue or the organiser is not the way to go.

-----

Read next: How to say what you mean to say

Photo from Flickr / xanboozled