Replacing habits

I love the idea of New Year's resolutions - an annual reflection on how to become better versions of ourselves.  But we are all so ineffective at keeping them that they now have a bad name.

One reason is that New Year's resolutions often involve forming a habit (eat healthier, exercise more, learn a new language) or breaking one (drink less, quit shopping) - which is hard.  Some actually require multiple habits (wake up earlier than the person sleeping next to me in bed / to run before work).

Replacing habits works better.

I was bored waiting in line today, so instead of mindlessly browsing Facebook on my phone, I deleted the mobile app.  But it would have been tough if I tried to just break a habit that kept me entertained in boring situations.  So I consciously started reading a New Yorker article from 1935 and ended up learning about what it feels like to be an opium addict.  And I didn't have the urge to check my Facebook because of that.

Anyway, the cure for those hooked on opium is apparently hypnosis.  So if replacing habits doesn't work for you, you might want to try that.

---

Thinking of changing the way you act?  Read How to say what you mean to say.